Musical Director and Musicians

NZCBA welcomes DR KEVIN CAMERON as Musical Director of NZYSW  until 2021

Kevin Cameron is an Australian music educator and conductor.  He is Music Director of the Melbourne Conservatorium Wind Symphony at the University of Melbourne and Director of Bands and Orchestras at Geelong Grammar School.

Dr Cameron has studied conducting with some of the world’s finest teachers, including the Italian maestro Gian Luigi Gelmetti and the legendary conducting mentor Gustav Meier.  Dr Cameron has appeared with the Sydney, Tasmanian, West Australian, and Darwin Symphony Orchestras, the State Orchestra of Victoria, the Auckland Philharmonia, the National Orchestra of Ukraine, and many youth and community orchestras across Australia.  In 1994, he was the inaugural winner of the ABC’s Young Conductor of the Year competition, and has subsequently held numerous professional conducting posts, including Principal Conductor of the Band of the South Australia Police, Assistant Conductor of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, ABC Conductor-in-Residence, and Music Director positions at Murdoch University, Newcastle University Choir, and the University of Newcastle Symphony Orchestra.

Dr Cameron works as a guest conductor and clinician throughout Australia.  Dr Cameron has also served as President of the South Australian Band Association and the National Band Council of Australia and he has officiated as an adjudicator at eisteddfodau and important music competitions in all Australian states and territories.  He is currently President of the Victorian Bands’ League.

Members NZYSW Winter Event 2019

Jacqui McPherson Flute – Principal
Isabella Stevens Flute
Eireann Hudner Flute
Charlotte Mackenzie Flute
Nancy Chen Flute
Elena Salmond Oboe
Daniel Huang Bassoon
Billie Hart Clarinet – Principal
Gaby Burns Clarinet
Liv Burns Clarinet
Joseph Galinski Clarinet
Alana Saunders Clarinet
Andy Derby Clarinet
Kaia Holborow Clarinet
Gillian Toala Clarinet
Micah Russell Bass Clarinet
Tessa Frazer Alto Saxophone
Jonah Werhan Alto Saxophone
Dylan Holmes Tenor Saxophone – Principal
Caitlin Bergervoet Baritone Saxophone
Sarah Doherty Baritone Saxophone
Nina Noble Trumpet – Principal
James Liston Trumpet
Luke Mackenzie Trumpet
Toby Buckner Trumpet
Angus Zeng Trumpet
Jacob Fraser Horn – Principal
Lauren Lancaster Horn
Karen Huang Horn
Mereem Dewerse Horn
Lauren Tantrum Euphonium
Rebecca Harris Trombone – Principal
Elliott Lee Trombone
Amy Laithwaite Trombone
Alex Alford Tuba – Principal
Cameron Hudson Tuba
Hannah Smith Percussion – Principal
Lewis Cooper Percussion
Robert Hall Percussion
Camryn Nel Timpani